14 airports resume domestic flight operations, says Hadi Sarki


The Federal Government on Sunday announced that 14 airports were now opened for domestic commercial flight operations.

Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, who announced this in a tweet through his official Twitter handle, said the airports had resumed full domestic flight operations.

He said ministerial approvals for private and charter operations in and out of the 14 airports were not required, as the public would be informed of the other airports in due course.

Hadi listed the 14 airports to include the Malam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja; Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos;  and Port Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa.

Others include the Sam Mbakwe Airport, Owerri; Maiduguri Airport, Maiduguri; Victor Attah Airport, Uyo; Kaduna Airport, Kaduna; and Yola Airport, Yola.

READ ALSO: Schools to reopen 4 August for final year pupils, says FG

Hadi list also included Margaret Ekpo Airport, Calabar; Benin Airport, Benin. Birni Kebbi Airport; Yakubu Gowon Airport, Jos; and Sultan Abubakar Airport, Sokoto.

Commercial flight activities in Nigeria’s airports were shut down by the Federal Government for about three months as a measure to contend the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The government started reopening the airports from 8 July when it first reopened the Lagos and Abuja airports.

About four other airports followed subsequently on 15 July before the announcement of Hadi on Sunday.

The minister that inspection had been completed on the 14 airports and resumption of operations at the facilities had been approved.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here