APC’s Ismaeel Danbaba wins Nasarawa Assembly constituency bye-election


The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Ismaeel Danbaba, has been declared the winner of the bye-election into Nasarawa central state constituency in Nasarawa sate held 8 August 2020.

The returning officer, Mr Iiyasu Umar, who announced the results on Saturday night in Nasarawa local government area said the All Progressives Congress (APC), candidate scored 7,475 to defeat Mr. Bage Nuhu of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 4,608 votes.

Giving a further breakdown of the results, Umar, explained that the bye-election had 12,217 total votes cast out of which 12,083 were valid votes with 234 rejected votes.

The bye-election was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to fill the vacancy created by the death of the former member of the house of Assembly Suleiman Adamu who died on 30 April 2020, as a result, Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The results of the election was equally announced under the supervision of the INEC National Commissioner in charge of Kogi, Nasarawa, and Kwara state Alhaji Mohammed Haruna amidst heavy security presence.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here