PMB re-appoints Professor Mahmood Yakubu as INEC chairman for second term


President Muhammadu Buhari has re-appointed Professor Mahmood Yakubu as the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, disclosed this in a statement on Tuesday titled “Buhari nominates Yakubu as INEC chairman for the second term in office.”

The statement read, “President Muhammadu Buhari has presented the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, for a second term in office.

“In a letter to President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, the President said in accordance with the provision of Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), ‘I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the nomination of Professor Mahmood Yakubu for appointment as Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for a second and final term.’

“Prof Yakubu was first appointed by Buhari in November 2015.

Yakubu was first appointed INEC chairman in November 2015. He succeeded Attahiru Jega, who supervised the 2015 general election.

Yakubu supervised the 2019 general election and off-cycle elections in states such as Kogi, Edo, and Ondo.

While many of the elections he supervised have been criticised by local and international observers for inadequacies, most observers commended the two most recent elections, the Edo and Ondo governorship elections.

The Edo election was won by the main opposition party, PDP, while the Ondo election was won by Nigeria’s ruling party, APC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here