INEC Commissioner Abubakar Nahuche resigns as 5 others retire


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Monday 9 November 2020 confirmed the resignation from his role as National Commissioner, Abubakar Nahuche.

Chairman of INEC’s Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, said Nahuche resigned due to personal reasons, and his resignation had been accepted by President Muhammadu Buhari.

“INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Estate, Works and Transport Committee, representing North-West, Nahuche, resigned his appointment on personal reasons and the President has accepted his resignation and thanked him for his services to the nation,” he said.

Nahuche’s resignation was announced just after five other national commissioners left the electoral commission after the expiration of their terms.

READ ALSO: INEC: Yakubu hands over to Ahmed Mu’azu as acting chairman

Solomon Soyebi, Baba Shettima Arfo, Amina Zakari, Profesor Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, and Dr Mohammed Mustafa Lecky all stepped down during a ceremony at the commission’s headquarters in Abuja on Monday.

INEC chairman, Profesor Mahmood Yakubu, also stepped aside and handed over the affairs of the commission to the retired Air Vice Marshal Ahmed Mu’azu, a national commissioner in charge of the commission’s Tender Board Committee.

His exit from the role is only temporary until the Nigerian Senate confirms his reappointment for a second five-year term as head of the electoral commission.

Buhari sent his letter of nomination to the National Assembly in late October, but lawmakers are currently on a break till late November when the nomination is expected to be confirmed without delay.

Yakubu and the five national commissioners that stepped down on Monday were inaugurated on 9 November 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here