PMB swears in Mahmood Yakubu as INEC Chairman for second term


President Muhammadu Buhari Wednesday swore-in Professor Mahmood Yakubu as chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), for another five-year term on 27 October.

The INEC chairman, cleared by the Senate last week, was sworn-in before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

He is the first to be reappointed to head the commission.

READ ALSO: Senate confirms Professor Mahmood Yakubu as INEC boss

A minute silence was also observed in honour of the late General Domkat Bali (rtd), who served as the Minister of Defence.

Those at the meeting were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha; Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari; National Security Adviser, Major General Babagana Munguno (rtd). The Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr Abubakar Malami; Minister of Information and Culture, Mr Lai Mohammed; Minister of Works and Housing, Mr Babtunde Raji Fashola; Minister of Aviation, Mr Hadi Sirika, Minister of Women Affairs, Ms Pauline Tallen; Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Mrs Sadiya Umar Farouk, and the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Mr Mohammed Musa Bello were also at the meeting.

Others are the Minister of State for Education, Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba; Minister of State for Finance, Budget and National Planning, Mr Clement Agba; Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Mr Uche Ogah and the Minister of State for Works and Housing, Mr Abubakar D. Aliyu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here