Travel Restriction: UK places ban on Nigeria, 188 others to curb COVID-19


The United Kingdom has placed a travel restriction on travellers from Nigeria and other countries in order to contain the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country.

The country listed Nigeria alongside 188 countries on the amber list on its website. Aside from the countries on the amber list, other countries were categorised under the green or red list.

Uk said travellers listed on the green list are allowed into the country, the ones listed on the red list are totally banned from travelling into the country and the ones on the amber list have been placed under restrictions and must follow the rules listed.

“You should not travel to amber list countries or territories for leisure purposes,” UK said.

“If you have also been in or through a country or territory on the amber list in the 10 days before you arrive in England, and have not visited a country on the red list, you must follow the amber list rules.”

On arrival in England, travellers from Nigeria and other countries on the amber list, must quarantine at home for ten days and take a COVID-19 test on or before day two and on or after day eight of their arrival.

The Uk said one of the rules for those travelling from any country on the amber list is that they must complete a passenger location form on arrival in the country, book and pay for day two and day eight COVID-19 travel tests.

“You may be able to end quarantine early if you pay for a private COVID-19 test through the ‘Test to Release’ scheme,” UK said.

The country also warned that the amber list is not exhaustive and more countries might be added.

“If a country or territory is not on this list, you should not assume that it is a green or red list country or territory,” UK said.

“Countries and territories are only green or red if they appear on the green or red list.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here