PDP Convention: Leaders, delegates, members gather to elect new officials (Pictures)


PDP Convention: Leaders, delegates, members gather to elect new officials (Pictures)

After weeks of anxiety and tension, Members and delegates of the leading opposition party Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have converged at Eagles Square, Abuja to hold their national convention and elect new officials.

The convention scheduled to hold 30 and 31 October is a crucial part of the party’s preparation for the 2023 elections in the country.

National party officials, governors, ex-governors, and other bigwigs of the party have all stormed the ground to pledge their support to the party.

From the get-go, 13 PDP governors made it clear they weren’t interested in a fierce political contest but in a consensus arrangement that would see them pick the 21-man national officers’ list to serve the party in the next four years.

The list of the consensus candidates for the PDP, national convention taking place at the Eagle Square, Abuja include:

1. Iyorchia Ayu-national chairman

2. Umar Iliya Damagum-deputy national chairman (North)

3. Taofeek Arapaja-deputy national chairman (South)

4. Samuel Anyanwu (national secretary)

5. Ahmed Yayari Mohammed (national treasurer)

6. Umar Bature (national organizing secretary)

7. Daniel Woyegikuro (national financial secretary)

8. Stella Effah-Attoe (national woman leader)

9. Mohammed Kadade Suleiman (national youth leader)

10. Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade (national legal adviser)

11. Debo Ologunagba (national publicity secretary)

12. Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel (national auditor)

13. Setonji Koshoede (deputy national secretary)

14 Ndubisi Eneh David (deputy national treasurer)

15. Ibrahim Abdullahi (deputy national publicity secretary)

16. Ighoyota Amori (deputy national organizing secretary)

17. Adamu Kamale (deputy national financial secretary)

18. Hajaja Yakubu Wanka (deputy national woman leader)

19. Timothy Osadolor (deputy national youth leader)

20. Okechukwu Osuoha (deputy national legal adviser)

However, the position of Deputy National Chairman (North) and Deputy National Chairman (South) are still under contestation.

Former Osun Governor, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola is contesting the Deputy National Chairman (South) with former Oyo Deputy Governor Taofeek Arapaja while Mrs Inna Ciroma will slug it out with Alhaji Umar Damagum for Deputy National Chairman (North).

As at the time of filing this report, delegates from Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra and Bauchi States have completed voting to affirm consensus candidates picked by party leaders.

PDP Convention: Leaders, delegates, members gather to elect new officials (Pictures)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here