Gov Bala inaugurates review committee on creation of Sayawa chiefdom (Photos)


Gov Bala inaugurates review committee on creation of Sayawa chiefdom (Photos)

Governor Bala Mohammed has inaugurated a 30-member committee to review the implementation of the reports of Justice Babalakin, Shehu Awak and Justice Bala Umar on the creation of Sayawa Chiefdom.

Bala while inaugurating the committee yesterday at the Government House in Bauchi, urged them to be transparent and committed in the discharge of the task given to them, adding that they should live up to the expectation of the public and the state government.

The Governor said past administrations set up various commissions of enquiries after different ethno-religious crises in the area which led to the loss of lives and properties which he said must be addressed.

“The relative peace in Tafawa Balewa and environs must not be taken for granted, we must do everything humanly and administratively possible to ensure that the peace is maintained even beyond the area to cover the entire state”

“As a responsible and responsive government, we are determined to ensure that the issue was rested once and for all. I, therefore, urge you to do diligent work which will be acceptable to all the stakeholders,” he said.

The Governor said that the administration of Isa Yuguda took the bold step of enacting a law that created the Sayawa Chiefdom, which other previous administrations could not achieve due to lack of political will to implement all the reports of the Commissions.

According to the Governor, the terms of reference of the committee are to resolve the issue of Sayawa Chiefdom as recommended by Justice Babalakin, Shehu Awak and Justice Bala Umar’s Committees and the enabling Law on the creation of the Chiefdom and establish the demarcation, allocation of capital and the modalities for the appointment of the Chief, his Class and Title.

“The Committee is also to discuss and resolve all agitations within the Chiefdom including resettlement of those driven out of Tafawa Balewa Town at Burgel Junction, recommend Legal modalities of establishing the Chiefdom if necessary as well report on any matter incidental to the assignment. With these short addresses, it is my pleasure to inaugurate the committee to the glory of God and benefit of the people of Bauchi State,” he added.

In his response on behalf of members of the Committee, the Chairman, Ambassador Jibrin Dada Chinade thanked the Governor for finding them worthy of membership of the committee from among the many equally qualified people in the state.

Jibrin Dada Chinade said that the task ahead of the committee is huge, but reiterated the commitment of the committee to justify the confidence reposed on it by the State Government.

The Committee Chairman called for support from all the stakeholders of the area to support and cooperate with it to enable it to get to the conclusion in record time.

Members of the committee are Senator Adamu Ibrahim Gumba; Ambassador David Bala Gambar; Major General Yakubu Usman (Retd); Professor Salisu Shehu and Sheikh Dan’azumi Musa Tafawa/Balewa as members.

Others are: State Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN); Ibrahim Musa Tafawa/Balewa; Surv. Yahaya Baba; Umar Barau Ningi, mni xi. 2 Representatives of Bauchi Emirate Council and Alhaji Garba Mohammed Noma (Jarman Bauchi).

Also appointed as members are: Yusuf Garba (Chairman Alkaleri LGA); Engr. Salmanu Mohammed; Professor Sylvester S. Shikyil, SAN; Professor S. M. Yalams; Chairman of ZAAR Devt. Association and Chairman of JHAR Forum, Honourable Aminu Tukur Duguryel; Engineer Ahmed Moh’d Yakubu Jumba representing Jamaatul Nasril Islam (JNI); Chairman, Zauren Gwanto; Representative of Ministry for Local Government (LG), and Chieftaincy Affairs and Representative of Ministry of Justice.

Also included are; Representative of Local Government Service Commission; Representative of Bauchi State House of Assembly; Honourable Musa Mohammed Lumo, Members representing Lere/Bula constituency in the State House of Assembly; Honourable Musa Wakili Nakwada, Member representing Bogoro Constituency in the State House of Assembly; Honourable Bala Ali, Member representing Dass Constituency in the State House of Assembly; Representatives of the 2 Major Political Parties (PDP and APC); Surv. Adamu Chindo, former Deputy Surveyor-General; Hashimu Yakubu, Special Adviser, General Services, SSG’s Office while Barrister Kefas Magaji, Special Adviser, Legal Matters will serve as Secretary and Danjuma Garba Permanent Secretary, General Services Department, SSG’s Office will serve as Asst. Secretary

Recall that the administration of former Governor, Isa Yuguda, had assented to the law creating the Sayawa Chiefdom but the bone of contention has remained the headquarters of the Chiefdom as well as the procedure of selecting the Chief and his nomenclature.

Gov Bala inaugurates review committee on creation of Sayawa chiefdom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here