APC Convention: Senator Adamu emerges party’s National Chairman


APC Convention: Senator Adamu emerges party’s National Chairman

Senator Abdullahi Adamu has emerged as the new National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the 2022 National Convention of the party.

According to reports, Adamu emerged as the consensus candidate of the party after six other aspirants stepped down.

It was learned that prior to the commencement of the convention on Saturday, former Governor of Benue State, George Akume, had earlier on Saturday revealed that six of the APC Chairmanship aspirants had withdrawn from the race. Akume, presently the Minister of Special Duties, was a frontrunner in the chairmanship race before the reported endorsement of Sen.

Abdullahi Adamu by President Muhammadu Buhari. Akume revealed this in a letter addressed to the APC Election Sub-Committee, National Secretariat, Abuja.

Adamu was therefore declared the winner at the convention after a voice vote in which the “ayes” had it.

It was gathered that the convention was attended by President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo. Others are: President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, APC governors, former Governor of Lagos State, Bola Tinubu and other party members as well as delegates.

Apart from Adamu, a former deputy governor of Osun State, Iyiola Omisore, was named as the party’s national secretary.

The ratified executives who all emerged by consensus include Senator Abubakar Kyari (Borno State) as the Deputy National Chairman (North), Emma Eneukwu (Enugu State) as the Deputy National Chairman (South), Festus Fuanter (Deputy National Secretary), Muhazu Rijau (National Vice Chairman, North-Central), Mustapha Salihu (National Vice Chairman, North-East), Salihu Lukman (National Vice Chairman, North-West), Ijeoma Arodiogwu (National Vice Chairman, South-East), Victor Giadom (National Vice Chairman, South-South), and Isaac Kekemeke (National Vice Chairman, South-West).

Others are Ahmed El-Marzuk (National Legal Adviser), Uguru Ofoke (National Treasurer), Bashir Gumel (Financial Secretary), Suleiman Argungu (National Organising Secretary), Beta Edu (National Woman Leader), Abdullahi Israel (National Youth Leader), Tolu Bankole (Special Persons Leader), F.N Nwosu (National Welfare Secretary), Felix Morka (National Publicity Secretary), Abubakar Maikafi (National Auditor), Bashir Gumel (National Financial Secretary), Ibrahim Salawu (Deputy National Legal Adviser) and Omorede Osifo (Deputy National Treasurer).Deputy National Financial Secretary) Hon Hamma-Adama Ali Kumo. (Deputy National Organizing Secretary) Nze Chidi Duru. (Deputy National Publicity Secretary) Yakubu Murtala Ajaka.(Deputy National Welfare Secretary) Dr Christopher Akpan. (Deputy National Auditor) Olufemi Egbedeyi. (Deputy National Women Leader) Zainab Abubakar Ibrahim. (Deputy National Youth Leader) Jamaluddeen Kabir. (National Ex-officio, North Central) Oluwatoyin Opawuye. (National Ex-officio North East) Sirajo Dahuwa. (National Ex-officio, North West) Aliyu Ahmed Yako. (National Ex-officio, South East) Rt. Hon. Agunwa Anekwe. (National Ex-officio , South South) Hon. Diriwari Akedewei. (National Ex-officio South West) Mrs Bunmi Oriniowo. (Zonal Secretary North Central) Yakubu Muhammad Adamu (FCT). (Zonal Secretary North East) Muhammad Wali Shettima. (Zonal Secretary (North West) Barr Bello Goronyo. (Zonal Secretary South East) Azosu Innocent Itafa. (Zonal Secretary South South) Dr Ita Udosen. (Zonal Secretary South West) Vincent Beewaji. (Zonal Legal Adviser North Central) Barr Hadiza Aliyu. (Zonal Legal Adviser North East) Barr Dauda Chakpo. (Zonal Legal Adviser: North West) Barr Bashir Usaini Dutse. (Zonal Legal Adviser South East) Barr Mayor Ogbona Ernest. (Zonal Legal Adviser South South) Nil. (Zonal Legal Adviser South West) Ismail Kolawole Majoro. (Zonal Organizing Secretary North Central) Hon Ahmed Attah. (Zonal Organizing Secretary North East) Abubakar Adamu Musa. (Zonal Leader of Persons With Disability South South) Chief Edet Asia. (Zonal Leader of Persons With Disability South West) Mashood Erubami.

APC Convention: Senator Adamu emerges party’s National Chairman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here